At last.

I finished programming the code for my IMU sensor. It corrects the gyro reading for offset and integration errors by means of accelerometer data. For this I use a nonlinear complementary filter based on a direction cosine matrix. This article explains how the filter works and, even better, it explains all the matrix math that is used to describe the filter. Basically, it explains everything that you need to know if you want to make such a filter yourself. But you must be prepared to read the article several times.

So now I know position, speed and attitude of my robot based on gyro and accelerometer. This is called an Inertial Navigation System or INS. Thanks to the filter attitude info does not get worse over time, but I don’t know yet how good it is. A very basic test showed that my robot knows the difference between lying flat on the ground and lying on a grain of sugar. What’s even better, it still knows this after two or five minutes. And this is the holy grail I was after all this time. So attitude information around the X and Y-axis is quite good. I cannot correct for drift around the Z-axis using the accelerometer, so this still has some drift. If I needed to I could use a compass to correct for this. But as this is not really necessary for my robot I think I’ll leave that be. I don’t know yet how precise position info is. I know it must still suffer from integration errors, but that doesn’t matter to.

I also need actual attitude data as it will be the input for a PID controller that keeps the robot balanced. Therefore it is good to know how fast the filter is. Using robotC and fast I2C (SensorType[S3]=sensorI2CCustomFastSkipStates) I get a reading every 15 msec. But I also get an error from time to time, the system cannot recover from it. When I use the standard I2C speed I get a reading every 24 Msec and a reliable system. Of course I will have to use a lower frequency to make room for other processes. I still aim for a heartbeat of 50/33 Herz for my robot.

