“I know why you’re here, Neo. I know what you’ve been doing… why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer.” from The Matrix.

As you might know from my previous posts there is quite a bit of math involved in computing speed, position and attitude from IMU sensor data. Thus far I have dealt with translating robot related measurements to world related measurements and offset correction. But there is more to come, correction for sensor position on the robot and, most important, sensor fusion. No matter what technique I will use for this, all documentation is in matrix math. This makes sense as matrix math is very compact. Therefore I decided to rewrite my IMU code to matrix math. I did this before when I built my Kalman filter, but then I abandoned in the end. But then I was using 2*2 matrices, now I am working in 3 dimensions and my matrices are 3*3. The bigger the matrices the more compact matrix math is compared to component math.

So, I’m drawn back into the matrix. Last night I have converted my library of matrix functions to work with 3*3 matrices. Next few nights I will convert the functionality I already have build for the IMU. Only then I can continue with sensor fusion. It really is two steps forward, one step back.

