In my last post I discussed how I improved the accuracy of my robots sensors. This was done by trying out different sensor locations and measuring the variance of the sensors at different locations. This time I’ll describe how I measured the variance for both the compass and gyro sensor.

Earlier I found out that the NXT motors influence the accuracy of both sensors in two ways. First, the magnetic field generated by the NXT motors influence the compass sensor. I minimized this effect by using the brick as a shield. For this I placed the compass sensor at the top rear of the brick. The NXT motors are underneath and in front of the brick. Second, changes in motor power seem to affect the voltage level on the sensor ports for a short period of time. I’m still figuring out a good method to minimise this effect. For measuring the variance of the sensors I got rid of this effect by  pausing sensor readings for a short time after changes in motor power.

For my final test I wrote a program that set motor power to a random level between -100 and 100 every 0,5 seconds. At the end of this time period, just before applying a new value for motor power, I measured the value of both sensors. I did this 300 times, taking two and a half minutes. The motor power was applied to both driving motors of FreeRover, but not to the steering motor. FreeRover was placed on a cardboard box to get the wheels free from the ground and thus to prevent FreeRover from moving. The environment was as stable as could be whilst at the same time the system could vibrate (although not as much as it would when FreeRover really moves). Below is a graph of the measurements.

 The graph shows the readings of the compass sensor in red. It is pretty stable, even with the motors running. There are a few readings of the mean giving it a variance of 0.03544. The Gyro readings are in blue, it shows more variation in the readings. The variance of the Gyro is 0,93311 in this test. I did repeat the test several times at different headings and locations. The results of the tests were not always the same but the overall image is consistent with this example.

I want to finish this post with a remarks. This isn’t a test that satisfies scientific standards, but hey, the NXT is a toy after all.

